Why I am “Wasting” My Vote.

waste

Can we all just agree on one thing?
This election season has been pretty brutal. On everyone.

I want to preface this by saying that I respect anyone who supports a candidate that they truly believe in. It’s not easy to be an informed voter (a.k.a. researching sources other than Twitter and Facebook)- it takes effort! So, if you’ve done your homework and your conscience allows you to cast your ballot with confidence, that’s an admirable thing!

But today, I’m specifically talking to the ‘undecided’ voters. To anyone who is considering a third party candidate or a write-in candidate, but has been feeling the pressure from the two-party system.  I’m not here to tell you who to vote for, I just want to encourage you to keep asking the tough questions. Think critically.

Remember that the freedom to vote in the United States didn’t just spring out of nowhere.
It was earned by generations before us.
People fought for the ability to participate in the political process.
Brave souls in generations past were literally beaten and imprisoned for insisting upon the right to participate in government.

Those people did not suffer only for you to be bullied or guilt-tripped into voting for someone you do not truly believe in.

Those people did not stand up against injustice so that you would someday be forced against your conscience to “choose between two evils”.

I’ve been told, over and over again throughout the last few months, that voting third party is a “waste“.  Do you know what the true waste is?
Not giving voice to your principles is a true waste.
Standing on the shoulders of the brave men and women who fought for our freedom to choose who we support, only to compromise our convictions- that’s a true waste.

With all the intense political dialogue, even within the church, one might think that God said that “if my people, who are [insert political party affiliation], will show the ‘other side’ how much better and smarter they are, vote strategically, and place their hope in the government to legislate morality, then I will hear from heaven and heal their land.”

But God never said that.

He did say this: “If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” 2 Chronicles 7:14

God seems to care a whole lot more about the posture of our hearts than he does about making the loudest political statement.

Here are 3 practical steps to take as we approach November 8th:

1.) Please pray for wisdom, vote from your principles, and don’t ever assume that the kingdom of God can be shaken by a temporary human government system.

2.) Please be kind to people, and show respect even when you strongly disagree.

3.) Don’t feel shame whenever someone rebukes you for not sacrificing your convictions on the altar of ‘The Political Process’, ‘Strategic Voting’, ‘The Supreme Court’, or ‘The Future of America’.  

When someone ridicules your hesitation to jump on the 2-party bandwagon, they are acting out of fear. It’s a conversation-killer; there’s little room for healthy dialogue about the issues when fear takes the wheel.
Yes, in this day and age, there are many reasons to be fearful.
But there are many more reasons to be hopeful.
And the biggest reason is that God’s sovereignty, his love, and his grace will remain unchanged throughout this election, and throughout all of eternity.

So, my dear “undecided” friends, as this election approaches,
please consider prayerfully voting from a place of hope, and not from a place of fear.

Thanks for reading! God bless!

One thought on “Why I am “Wasting” My Vote.

  1. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! As a woman who comes from a family that has a bit of a deep republican mind set as well as background, it has been really hard for me to come out of my shell as a Libertarian, Free Thinker, Third Party voter. This recent election was a very difficult one for me. It has also unfortunately cost me some friends due to my inability to vote for either popular candidate.

    Reading this, I feel all the more at ease with the vote I cast. Although my candidate did not win, I can sleep knowing I voted for a candidate the represented my views as well as a number of my wishes for the American people.

    More people should vote like this, with their conscience. More individuals should be able to take the time and be able to access information about the electoral candidates beyond the widely pressed Republican and Democratic party forerunners. For it is the liberty of most, if not all, American citizens to think….feel…and act of their own accord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

