7 Day Challenge: Praying for your Husband

14991142_10154175785956925_4210561193698037335_oPrayer is an amazing thing!
Sometimes I take it for granted, and I forget what an incredible privilege it really is that we can TALK to the God who created the universe, and know that He hears us.

“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.”-1 John 5:14

There’s so much about prayer that I don’t know, but I do know that it is God’s will that I love and honor my husband.
(Romans 12:10: “Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves.”)

As a wife, I can’t think of a more powerful way for me to love and respect my husband than to pray for him daily! Beyond just the usual/generic, “Lord, please help him to have a good day today” prayers,  I’m challenging myself to really PRAY for my husband much more intentionally and specifically, and I hope you will do this challenge along with me! You can pray these prayers with your husband, or by yourself- whichever you feel would make the most sense to you both as a couple.

Of course there are many more topics we can pray over our husbands, but I hope that this 7-day challenge will be a good place to start. 🙂

Let’s do this together!

Day 1: Wisdom

Your husband needs wisdom and direction from the Lord, and it’s important to pray for guidance. Making big life decisions (even alongside the partnership of a wife) is a daunting task. Of course it’s a team effort, but your husband likely feels the primary weight of responsibility to provide and protect. A husband can only walk in wisdom if he is first being led by Christ. Pray that the Holy Spirit will move in his life, and that your husband will make decisions that are rooted in truth and the pursuit of righteousness.

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.”-James 1:5

Day 2: Encouragement

Ask the Lord to encourage your husband’s heart and mind, and remind him of the hope he has in Christ.  Pray that your husband will experience encouragement today in the way that speaks to him best; and then put that prayer into action! Just a few ideas to choose from: leave him a note if he enjoys written encouragement, ask him if you can help him with a household project, encourage him to cultivate strong friendships with other men who will build him up (I strongly support Kevin’s ‘nights out with the guys’!), surprise him with a small gift to show him you were thinking of him, or let him know something about his character that you most admire. It’s exciting to learn new ways to encourage your spouse! Pray for encouragement, and then put those prayers into action today.

“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up…” -1 Thes. 5:11

Day 3: Strength

My husband’s true strength goes way beyond opening a stubborn jar for me, or the way he can sweep me off my feet and twirl me around when we dance. The deepest and most admirable strength a husband can possesses is his strength of character.  This level of strength doesn’t just ‘happen’ randomly; it is cultivated through a reliance upon God’s sovereignty and perfect strength.  Pray that your husband will be inspired to seek out ways to allow the joy of the Lord to be his strength.

“Not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit, says the LORD”- Zec. 4:6

Day 4: Perseverance

Have you ever heard this saying? “The years are short, but the days are long.”  Can you relate?A single day can feel like a very very long time, especially when trials and struggles enter the scene. Is your husband facing difficulty at work, a spiritual battle, or a tough situation? Just like every human being ever, your husband faces temptations to cave in to the pressures of life. James 1:2-4: Consider it pure joy…whenever you face trials of many kinds,  because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”  Pray for God to strengthen your husband’s faith, develop his perseverance, and help him maintain a mature perspective on the trials of life.

Day 5: Peace

Peace is defined as ‘freedom from disturbance’; calmness, restfulness, harmony, and well-being. Mmmm… that sounds pretty great, huh?
Pray for your husband to experience a deep sense of peace today. When there are ‘storms’ in life, that his heart will be calm. When he is exhausted, that he will experience rest. When there’s chaos around him, that he will experience God’s peace that surpasses all understanding.
“And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus” -Phil 4:7

Day 6: Joy

I was taught that the word ‘Joy’ is actually an acronym. J.O.Y.: Jesus, Others, and Yourself. Jesus first, Yourself last, and Others in between.
Joy is about so much more than the circumstances around us- it’s the expectation of good that is yet to come. Joy is not a denial of difficulties, it’s a perspective of peace. There is a hope that stems from knowing that we are called to rejoice in the Lord because he is working ALL things for our good and His glory. Spend some time in prayer that your husband will experience JOY- today and every day.
“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him”- Rom 15:13

Day 7: Gratitude

It’s no secret- I adore my husband. My love for him grows daily, and I’m not sure if my heart is big enough to hold my admiration for him. In that context, it’s crazy to think how God loves Kevin more than I ever could! But it’s essential for me to remember that before Kevin ever belonged to me, he belonged to the Lord first. God placed him into my life as a precious gift, and that something I need to THANK him for!
Gratitude places the attention on the giver of a gift, rather than only on the gift itself.
I often find myself saying ‘Thank You’ to my husband.
But I shouldn’t just thank the gift. I should also thank the giver of the gift.
Marriage is such a precious gift. It’s not always easy, but it’s always worth it to live a life of gratitude alongside the spouse God blessed you with.
Thank you for taking the time to read this post today- I hope you’ll enjoy taking on this challenge with me!  Prayer is an amazing thing, and being married is an amazing thing- so a prayer challenge + marriage theme = DOUBLE AMAZING! 😉

God bless you always!

2 thoughts on “7 Day Challenge: Praying for your Husband

Leave a Reply

