Sweet Sorrows (GUEST POST!)

SweetSorrows
Hey ladies, you’re in for a treat today! Rue is a friend of mine who is currently working on an article for a christian magazine. She also is the voice behind the travel blog “Walker Stalkers”
(Be sure to check it out after reading her post below! https://awalkerstalker.wordpress.com/).
The exciting news today is that YOU have the opportunity to help out, and get YOUR story heard! Want to know how? Keep reading below! 🙂 The rest of this article is written by Rue.

“Hello everyone! It’s so nice to meet you. Thanks again to the lovely Kristin for letting me guest post. I enjoy her thoughts on marriage and relationship and so of course she was the first person I thought of when I started hunting around for a blogger to help me with an article I’m working on. Which leads me to why I’m visiting you all today. I am working on an article for a Christian magazine on some of the ways in which marriage affects friendship, specifically female friendships, though I think these issues are not limited by gender. I have read a lot of articles on how marriage affects family relationships, but in my personal experience, getting married was harder on my friends than my family. As a single woman, I truly loved my engaged friends and wanted to be happy for them but sometimes to tell the honest truth (yikes!) I wasn’t happy at all. I was jealous and angry that they had this special experience I was completely left out of. Patiently waiting is difficult enough but at a certain age, single women start attending a whirlwind of bachelorette parties, bridal showers, weddings and baby showers that can make even the most patient person want to pull her hair out. I remember feeling like I was stuck in this waiting room, watching as one by one my friends disappeared behind a door into some unknown place. I couldn’t go until they called my name and so I just kept sitting in this horrible room waiting to be let out. Though I honestly tried as hard as I could to celebrate my friends, I often felt like my fake smile was fooling no one.

You can imagine then, when I became a fiancée myself, how sensitive I was to the issues my single friends might be facing. I could deeply empathize with their pain, but if I’m being honest again, I wanted to rejoice! I was so joyful over the amazing gift God had given me in my husband and all I wanted was to celebrate with my closest friends the good work the Lord had done. Along the way, we all made mistakes, but overall I think we derived a lot of comfort from Romans 12:15 “Rejoice with those who rejoice and mourn with those who mourn.” As I have gone on to struggle with fertility issues while many friends have given birth to their beautiful children, this verse has brought me incredible comfort and wisdom. I figured, if my friends and I were facing these issues, other people probably were too and so I started working on this article.

This is where YOU come in. I would love to hear about how your engagement affected your friendships personally or how you experience engagement or marriage as a single person. If you feel comfortable sharing your story, please email me at scaliRM@gmail.com and I will send you some interview questions. If you have other thoughts or very strongly disagree with the premise behind the article I’d love to hear from you too!

I firmly believe female friendships are some of the most valuable and important, both in terms of holiness and happiness. I am hoping this article can give a voice to brides wanting to rejoice with their best friends and women needing a space to mourn with their soul sisters. There is a wealth of information out there on how to support each other after marriage, but the wedding season itself can be a stressful and trying time for everyone. I’d love to hear how you and your besties navigated those experiences.

Thanks for all your help!

One thought on “Sweet Sorrows (GUEST POST!)

Leave a Reply

